Adobe-Wan Kenobi – Part 2

This blog so far has focused on my developing skills as a photographer and editor, but in this week’s post I’m going to concentrate on the three very intense graphic design days we had with the superb Greta Powell (http://www.curveandlearn.com/).

We learnt the skills necessary in ‘Illustrator’ and ‘InDesign’ to create all the documents for the course, focusing on the infographic for an Identification Project, and a magazine for a Design Project (progress after day one below).

For me, one of the most challenging parts of this course is not being hesitant in showing work which fits the brief but may not be top quality.   This was demonstrated in the latest three hour design task:  ‘Go out, take images, and use those images to make two magazine covers, one single page, one wrap-around…’.  I had just about completed one (see below) and thought, “I’m running out of time, so I’ll just copy and paste into the other image to make my second cover.  When it came to review, even though I met the brief, I didn’t feel comfortable showing the second cover.  However feedback suggested that what I’d done would have been the smart thing to do.  Hit the brief first then you can work on improving.  Lesson learnt.

screen-shot-2016-10-30-at-17-42-25screen-shot-2016-10-30-at-17-42-45

Leave a Reply

