Adobe-Wan Kenobi – Part 1

So this is the first of a two-part blog because the subject will be such a large part of my course (plus all the information my brain absorbed during the last week can’t be condensed into a single post!).

This week was all things Adobe, and I’m going to log my journey into the world of image editing in Lightroom and Photoshop.  I have always been slightly hesitant to edit my images so I didn’t ruin them.  However, as soon as I was told it was non-destructive and really you just need to practice and experiment, it suddenly clicked.  I became much more relaxed about editing and started to enjoy seeing the subtle, image-enhancing changes I could make.

I’ve posted two ‘before-and-after’ shots from a couple of images I edited this week to show what I mean by subtle, image-enhancing changes.  The first comes from Lightroom, where I’ve applied a gradient filter to darken the sky and draw the viewer’s focus onto the goose in the foreground, and the second I’ve applied dodging and burning in Photoshop to lift the deer and remove some of the distractions in the background.

Screen Shot 2016-10-23 at 15.12.46.pngScreen Shot 2016-10-23 at 15.34.46.png

Leave a Reply

